Who am I? that is the question we all ask ourselves. (Frankenstein)

“I was independent on none and related to none. The path of my departure was free and there was none to lament my annihilation. my person was hideous and my stature gigantic. What did this mean? who was I? whence do I come? what was my destination? These questions continually recurred, but I was unable to love them?” (Mary Shelley)

The monster has a mind of a child. Physically he is fit and looks like a man, but he however has the mentality of a child. He is lost and has no idea who he is or who to become. He doesn’t know where he is from or what his future holds. Lonely and looking for some connection he tries to integrate himself into the human society, however he is rather not welcomed. Judged based on his appearance. He is viewed with disgust and fear and society overlooks his kind nature. The way he is treated affects the way he views himself and he turns all his frustration into hatred for his creator and the people who mistreat him. The way people viewed him and his appearance affected his personality, how he saw himself and the human kind.

We as humans have this need to find out who we are, we are always wondering if we have a place in the world or if we are forever going to be lost. Society demands of us to determine who we are at a very young age. We are expected to have figured out what we want for ourselves and our futures. As teenagers we spend our whole youth trying to figure out our identity, and society or the people we surround ourselves with influence the person we turn out to be. I can relate to the monster, because I am a 15 year old girl in grade 12 where everyone of my friends or fellow classmates are all older than I am. I could be viewed as the anomaly and I am bound to be insecure, especially in high school, were you are judged on your appearance, and the way you act or behave. I do not know what my future holds nor where I would be in the next ten years, I have no idea what I am doing in high school and being my age doesn’t  help to ease my insecurity considering there is no one I could relate to since everyone is older than I am. So yes I can relate to the monster and I understand how hard it must have been for him to find anyone, or to fit in. It must have been hard to discover his own identity that differentiates from what society expected of him.  It must have been hard to love himself.

Leave a Reply

